Multipurpose Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Freezing Okra August 16, 2010

Filed under: Food — multipurposemom @ 4:22 pm

A friend gave us some okra that needed to be used quickly.  Caleb was going out-of-town, and I didn’t think me and Rachel really needed to eat a gallon of okra.  So we did an experiment.  I yahoo-ed “how to freeze okra” and we were on our way.

The okra was already washed.  So our first step was to discard the heads and tails and cut into 1/2 inch pieces (some of mine were probably less than 1/2 inch, because that’s how I like to eat it).  We placed the pieces on baking sheets.  And turned the oven to 350.

When all of the okra was cut (and Rachel had told it to smile for a picture), the baking sheets went into the oven for 10 minutes.

Then we took it out to cool.

When it was cool, I went out to the car to get the ziplock bags for freezing.  Then I realized Caleb had taken the car to Wake Forest.  So we just used plastic containers, and labeled the tops “Okra 7/2010.”

The internet tells me that all I have to do when I’m ready to eat it is either dump it in soup and cook, or bread it and fry.

 

One Response to “Freezing Okra”

  1. Miranda Says:

    so cute that she told it to smile for the picture!


Leave a Reply

